Skip to content

Moving too fast…

24 November, 2009

I’ve been in my new job for less than a month and now, someone wants to spoil it! It’s ridiculous, I’ve just settled into my desk, I have my own mug and everything and now the Regional Director wants me to leave.

Ok, it’s not as dramatic as that, actually he wants me to apply for a senior management role instead. He says I’m perfect as I have the right personality and the right experience to make the role my own. It’s a new role that’s been created due to a restructure and he says he wants me for it. The down side is that there will be some travelling involved.

What do I do?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Petrichor permalink
    8 December, 2009 5:51 AM

    It all depends on whether this new role will further your career, or just be a huge pain in the arse. I think it might be fun if a little bit of travelling was involved, but too much could become a real chore.

  2. 24 November, 2009 7:29 PM

    It depends on where the travelling’s to. If it’s to – – say – – North Italy, I’d go for it. Goole, on the other hand – – No, seriously, it’s great that they want to promote you so soon and the “make the role my own” bit sounds good. Go for it, and take your own mug with you!

Leave a comment