Skip to content

Work:The Whole Story

13 November, 2009

My regular readers will remember that approx a year ago I left my old job of 5 years to move onto pastures new.

It turned out to be one of the worst decisions of my adult life. Don’t get me wrong, the company I now work for is great, as a whole. The office that I went to work for was terrible. Among the things wrong with it were that I was lied to in my interview about the amount of travelling I’d be required to do and many other small and petty things that when combined made life there unbearable.

After 9 months I was stressed and sick, both mentally and physically. A trip to the doctor confirmed this and I was told to take some time off and given a sick note.

After 4 weeks I had a home visit from the very person who contributed the most to my stress, which really didn’t help

4 weeks after the home visit I returned to work expecting to get the cold shoulder and maybe even face a dressing down. What happened in reality was a complete suprise. I had a meeting with my regional manager who told me he knew I wasn’t happy and that he realised that the job I was doing wasn’t what I was supposed to be doing.

He then offered me another job with a different division closer to home and for more money, it also involved me taking charge of my own branch.

I was stunned, flabbergasted and shocked.

I accepted on the spot and here I am a few weeks later having the time of my life, loving every minute of it as I’m back in my comfort zone of teaching to adults in a classroom setting and managing my own branch.

It’s pure heaven. So that’s me all sorted and that’s you all up to date with what’s happening to me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 13 November, 2009 12:31 PM

    Thanks Milo, I’m enjoying the creative freedom, responsibility and the fact I’m teaching in a class again!

  2. 13 November, 2009 11:59 AM

    Oh I like stories with happy endings – glad it all worked out! Remember how unhappy I was in my last job? Awful. Amazing to think I was there just 3.5 months. It felt like so much longer. My new job has an overly high workload – but I love the people and the role itself and the organisation are great. I have no stress and sleep like a baby, good signs.

    Well done, again!

Leave a Reply

