Skip to content

Aging with apathy…

9 September, 2009

1111Topsy_Turvey_Birthday_Cake_by_p

Tomorrow, fair people of the world, is my 41st birthday. I have nothing special planned, I have no parties to attend, I have absolutely no feelings about my birthday at all. Is this strange? I used to look forward to birthdays with excitement and relish, I remember not being able to get to sleep the night before my birthday. I used to love ripping open the envelopes on greetings cards and opening the wrapping paper on any gifts I might receive.  The love of birthdays has now gone, lost in the mists of time and youth.

Tomorrow morning I have a small, simple pile of cards to open, which I will do over my first cup of coffee of the day and that will be the end of my birthday for another year.

I do have gifts, but these I have already received. The present of a new Filofax from my parents has already been put to use, and my present from “The Beloved” is tickets to see Bette Midler in concert when we’re on holiday in Las Vegas in a few weeks time. I’m very grateful for these and I’m very much looking forward to seeing Bette in concert, I may even say excited.

Birthdays as a whole have lost their lustre, this happens as you get older and the passage of time is not something most people of a certain age wish to celebrate. I will be 41, it’s no big deal, I’m just not all that bothered about being 41. They say life begins at 40, or I think this has now changed to 50 I seem to have read somewhere.

My hair has turned greyer in the last few months, is that down to age or the stress that I have been under recently? One will never know! Aging has never been something I’ve thought about a great deal and I’m not about to start dwelling on it now.

I read a quote from someone a few years ago although I can’t remember who said it but I wholeheartedly agree with the sentiment, “Age is an issue of mind over matter.  If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.” I think it was Mark Twain but can’t be sure.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 12 September, 2009 10:48 PM

    Sorry I missed the chance to say Happy Birthday – – but I was in Italy (I may have mentioned this once or twice). I hope you had a good day. I still enjoy my birthdays even though I’m surprisingly (to me) ancient. I remember the Communist on his eightieth saying in bewilderment “How did I get so old?”

  2. 10 September, 2009 3:14 PM

    PS, how come you’ve not blogged since April? or am i missing something??

  3. 10 September, 2009 3:13 PM

    Thanks Sven, I have actually enjoyed today, I ‘ve had one or two surpises! Plus a fantastic birthday lunch from Mother!

  4. 10 September, 2009 3:11 PM

    Thank You, I’ll be thinking of you thinking of me!

  5. 10 September, 2009 2:05 PM

    Yes, I’m with Sven. And am off to a pal’s birthday celebration this evening so I’ll have a sneaky one for you too. Happy Birthday!

  6. 9 September, 2009 11:38 PM

    Happy birthday! I’m excited for you – consider your day enjoyed vicariously. Have a good one!

  7. 9 September, 2009 9:54 PM

    Thank You! 🙂

  8. 9 September, 2009 9:26 PM

    Happy birthday for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

