Skip to content

Tea & Toast

13 August, 2009

Thisbeing the first day of my recuperation, I had a little lie in. Once I’d got out of bed around 8.15am this morning I had a shower, then dressed. As today is Thursday and Thursdays in Penistone means market day, I decided to join my father in a walk around the market.

My father walked around the market like the local squire, saying hello to everyone and stopping to chat to folks more than look around the stalls. I did begin to wonder whether we’d make it back for lunch!

My father is a gregarious chap and will talk to anyone. If I ever had any doubts that my parents were isolated here in Penistone then I need no longer worry. My father knows, it seems, everyone by name! After talking to each person in turn and rejoining me he slipped me a little tit bit of gossip or info about each one “she lost her husband recently” or “he’s got more money than he lets on” and so on.

After having a look around the market, it seemed as though there wasn’t as many stalls as I remember. This being my first visit for almost 5 years. My recollection was of a bustling market crammed to capacity with a myriad of cheap and cheerful products to browse over. This morning seemed empty and each stall didn’t seem to carry much stock. I was quite disappointed. I guess it’s a by product of the credit crunch, that and the fact our market is due to be demolished to make way for a new Tesco supermarket. The market is to be relocated, along with the fire station to a new home not too far away. I guess the markets uncertain future is keeping market traders away for the time being.

teantoast

On our return home, mother had warmed up the toaster and switched on the kettle. So I sat down quite content with one of my favourite breakfasts. Tea & Toast. Bliss!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

