Skip to content

Blast from the past…

13 August, 2009

Wedding Photo

The photograph above has just been found after a long period of absence. The picture was taken in 1959 and features my mothers brother, Allen, and his new wife Lillian. The lady 4th from the left is my mother at the tender age of 17. Standing next to her 3rd from the left is Margaret Rutherford. Well that’s a lie, she looks like her and according to my mother her speech and mannerisms were identical to that of Margaret Rutherford’s. That was actually my great grandmother Gertrude.

MargaretRutherford

For those of you who don’t know who I’m talking about, recall the Miss Marple films of the early 1960s from MGM. Yes that’s her! In case you are wondering, the picture above is Margaret Rutherford from the film “Murder, she said” in 1962 and not Grandma Gerty.

Other notable figures in the picture are my grandfather, on my mothers side, poking his head from behind that of my uncle. My Aunt Sandra first on the right, who was 14 and standing next to her 2nd on the right, is my grandmother.

Finally, notice the little 11 year old girl, 2nd on the left, sticking her tongue out. That particularly well behaved young madam is my Aunt Joan.

Sadly, both my grandparents and both Aunt Sandra and Aunt Joan are no longer with us, both having died of cancer quite some years ago. It’s photos like this one that bring them back to life with such vivid memories for me and for mum, she’s had quite a good laugh over this picture this evening, it’s brough back lots of stories for her.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 31 August, 2009 12:06 PM

    Old photos are great – to me it often doesn't matter whether I know the people in them or not – I always enjoy trying to work out more about them and their lives.;. All the best!!

  2. Granny Anne permalink
    14 August, 2009 4:23 PM

    This picture brought back memories for me of family weddings in the past. I often think of the happy times we had at them, and wonder whether these multi thousand pound marriage extravaganzas today will last as long as those simple celebrations.

  3. 13 August, 2009 10:38 PM

    Old photos are great – to me it often doesn’t matter whether I know the people in them or not – I always enjoy trying to work out more about them and their lives.

  4. 13 August, 2009 10:08 PM

    It was a true lucky find, hidden in some old papers we were going to throw out. We’re having a late spring clean!

  5. 13 August, 2009 10:03 PM

    I made sure I got a good scan! Mum has a box of old photos, I might have a rumage and see what else I can find!

  6. 13 August, 2009 8:53 PM

    I love old photos. They bring back so many memories. As we get older life seems so much more transitory. Here today, gone tomorrow, type thing.

  7. 13 August, 2009 8:47 PM

    That’s a great picture!… Even better it was found. It’s hard to find things like that anymore…

Leave a Reply

