Skip to content

At the Doctor’s

12 August, 2009

It wan’t that long ago I posted a tweet about being sat in a doctor’s surgery whilst being well. As it turns out I’m once again sat in one, this time waiting for my name to flash up on the screen.

“The Loved Ones” in there infinite wisdom have made me come and see the doctor about my stress.

Do doctors treat the symptoms of stress? I guess I’ll find out in a few minutes.

I feel like a fraud sat here, for all intents and purposes I’m not sick. I’m having trouble sleeping, keep getting tension headaches, have the occasional panic attack, I’m not eating properly (says mum) and I’m tired most of the time, but that’s normal surely when you’re having trouble sleeping.

But I’m not sick. Am I?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 12 August, 2009 3:11 PM

    Hi Daphne,
    I think you’re right about the 4 S’s. The doctor certainly sat up and took notice as it is the first time in almost 10 years I’ve been to see them.

  2. 12 August, 2009 2:56 PM

    They should at the very least note it on your records and ask you to come back if it doesn’t improve. I bet you’re not often at the doctor’s and hence the four S’s – Seldom Seen Something Serious – should be in the doctor’s mind here. Clearly your family are worried and it’s good to see the doctor BEFORE you get even worse effects. Sorry to sound like Agony Aunt but I’ve done lots of medical roleplays about stress and it’s a thing to be taken seriously.

Leave a Reply

