Skip to content

Struck Dumb

3 June, 2009

I guess I’ve been struck dumb and voiceless for the past few months. I’ve not felt as though I’ve had anything to share that wasn’t negative, depressing or boring. I seemed to have been regurgitating the same old shit that I’ve written about in previous years. The news was starting to repeat itself and it got old very quickly.

A hiatus is a good thing, it helps clear the mind and a person has time to focus on what’s really important. In my case, the past few months have been so busy with work, life and everything else I’ve tried to squeeze into the limited amount of time I have just for myself that writiing and blogging just seemed a pointless waste of time.

The truth is, and I know I’ve said this before, is that I don’t have too much time for me. I get a few hours a week of me time. The rest is spent chasing around 3 parts of the county for work. Weekends with “the beloved” are not relaxing as we’ve too much to do and now even more so. The few days a week I spend with “the loved ones” are packed full of chores and helping out and I honestly only get one night a week of time to myself. In that time I’ve not really felt like talking or blogging. I’ve not watched any TV, I’ve not read any books, I’ve not done much of anything…except try and rediscover me. I felt and still do, that I’m being swept along with the tide and there’s nothing I can do about it.

I haven’t done it yet, but I guess I’ve started to find my voice again, otherwise I wouldn’t be writing this. So, to all those people out there that haven’t abandonned me out of lack of interest. Hello again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 June, 2009 10:38 PM

    Thanks Daphne, although I haven’t been posting, I have still been reading and following everyone!

  2. 8 June, 2009 9:00 PM

    Ahhhh good – – you’re back! I don’t get much “me” time either – – I spend most of it blogging! I do hope things will improve for you in the next few months – I’ve kept checking for new posts and I’m delighted to find some at last. Please keep writing.

  3. 4 June, 2009 6:55 AM

    I guess we’re all guilty of that in some small way.

  4. 3 June, 2009 11:23 PM

    Welcome back! Agree with you re: hiatus. Is a good thing. You need to try and make more ‘me’ time. Not sure how though. I have masses, to the point where I resent others impinging on it outside work (family etc). Guess that makes me selfish in a way.

Leave a Reply

