Skip to content

Jade’s Tragic News

16 February, 2009

I don’t normally comment on celebrities that have made their living from appearing on television programmes like Big Brother, but I can’t help but write something about the tragic plight of Jade Goody.

jadegoody

The online edition of the Mail reported yesterday, that “Jade Goody revealed her terror at going home to die after doctors told her she only has weeks to live.

The reality TV star, who was diagnosed with cervical cancer five months ago, revealed: ‘All I want to do now is spend whatever time I have left with Jack and the kids.’

But Miss Goody, 27, who first rose to fame as a Big Brother contestant seven years ago, also said: ‘I’ve lived in front of the cameras. And maybe I’ll die in front of them.’ “

I always take newspaper reports of this type of proclamation with a pinch of salt, I wonder how much has been paraphrased or taken out of context. However, in this case, having previously seen Jade publicise practically everything she’s done in the media and tabloids, I can’t imagine this is far from her own words, which is a huge shame.

I would have thought that at a time in a person’s life, where certain death is imminent, that all you’d want to do is spend some private quality time with your loved ones without the intrusion of cameras and hacks.

Jade’s fame has always been built on the inapropriate, her original fame brought about as a contestant on Big Brother 3, she’s the one that first had sexual contact with another housemate on camera. Jade is the one who publically referred to her lady bits as “a kebab”. Jade was the one that thought East Anglia was abroad and that Cambridge was a part of London. Jade is also the one who caused in excess of 45,000 complaints about racist comments towards Bollywood star and housemate Shilpa Shetty.

It has taken Jade two hard years to get her career back on track, then she was diagnosed with cervical cancer and in true Jade form, proceeded to star in a documentary about her fight with the cancer.

Jade is reported to have said that she had worked extra hard to ensure the boys could continue in private school – and give them the headstart she was denied by her hard upbringing.

She said: ‘When I first knew I had cancer, I worked out a strategy.

‘I thought if I earn enough while I’m sick there will be enough for them to go to private school until they are 18.

‘I know people think I’m betraying my roots by sending them to private school but I want them to have the very best chance in life.

‘And that’s what my money is for. What’s the point of everything I have if I can’t do that for them?’

Last week Goody, originally from Bermondsey, south London, learned that her cervical cancer had spread to her bowel, liver and groin.

Mr Clifford told The Daily Star : ‘We are all hoping for the best but Jade knows she might not have much time left, and to be blunt, she is desperate to earn as much money as she can.

‘It is fair to say that selling the rights to her wedding would be a surefire way of earning a big amount of money.’

Jade’s reportly said “When Jack came out of prison he had no idea how sick I was. And I know this is hard for him because he expected to get me back. He expected the chemo to work and that we’d have a life together as a family. 

‘But I swear we WILL be a family before I die—just not for as long as I’d have hoped.

‘I love Jack with all my heart and I want to be his wife more than anything in the world. And I will be.

‘He’s devastated but he’s really trying to hold it together for me. But as soon as he found out I was going to die he just said, “Right then we’re getting married. You’re a special woman, I love you and I would be honoured to call you my wife. And I don’t care if it’s just for a few weeks”.

I can be cynical sometimes, but I wonder whether it’s just his way of ensuring that he has a legal right to the money she’ll be leaving behind. Then again, I think why shouldn’t he, afterall, they’re his children too and has every right to it.

I once considered Jade to be niave, but she isn’t really. She’s used the publicity to her own ends and she’s courted it as much as she could. She’s turned her own life and now her own death into her business and she and her family should reap the benefits even after she’s gone.

I do feel for her, cancer isn’t a nice way to die. I know I’ve had enough friends and relatives of my own die in a similar way and I also expect to go the same way myself in the end. I just wish her a peaceful and pain free passing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. steph thompson permalink
    16 February, 2009 4:29 PM

    It has pained me to learn of the recent news of jade. I too am a parent and i couldn’t imagine not being around watching my child grow into an adult. Attending engagements, weddings, births etc. I have been donating to cancer research for years now, lost many loved ones to cancer, and have hoped for more progress to cure more people. My thoughts go out to jade, i think she is really brave!

Leave a Reply

