Skip to content

Naked Rugby Powerade

28 January, 2009

Whilst driving home yesterday, my attention was brutally dragged off from the road by a billboard poster showing rugby player Paul Sackey in a freeze frame rugby dive. Not unusual in itself except that the guy was completely naked.

Now far be it from me to object to huge pictures of naked rugby players being displayed all over the country, but this is the second batch of posters to feature naked sports people by the same company.

Powerade, a subsidiary of the Coca Cola company used naked sports people last year in a similar ad campaign for their “innergear” concept.

Once again I’m not objecting to the use of fit naked sports people, note I say people, as women have also been used in the campaign, I just think that they could have come up with a different concept. It’s not really original is it!

The new campaign features Steve Borthwick, Paul Sackey and Shane Williams to name but a few (see below).

788535

788533

788534

I have to say that I think the first ad campaign photos, which coincided with the start of the 2008 Olympics, are much better. The covering of the rugby players in a mud like substance spoils the pictures. Last years advertising campaign featured Gregor Tait, Phillips Idowu and Rebecca Romero. The photos are much more polished!

swimmer_final

triple_jump2_final

cyclist_final1

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 22 April, 2009 11:51 PM

    Wow, wonderful art, great blog. something that needs to be seen and commented. wonderful works u have here.

  2. 24 February, 2009 4:53 PM

    I must say that when i first saw the bilbord poster of a naked man with his muscles bulging and covered in mud as I was traveling on the bus, I had to do a double take, just to make sure i was not dreaming, and sure enough i was not. First thought about time us women had something to look at (other than David Beckham, plus he has his wife in the ad’s now so no good). And as a man you would not appreciate other men covered in mud and all dirty but let me tell you I had never watched a rugby match before but I will now, this ad is much better than the last ad.

    Also the last photo just looks pain full.

    Mike Says:- NewsFlash! Honey I DO appreciate naked men covered in mud! It’s what I pray for!

Leave a Reply

