Skip to content

WordPress.org – confused.com

16 January, 2009

I’ve been looking into creating and hosting my blog on a remote server so that I can customise the look and feel of this blog more in my own style. Something that represents my own personality more than a simple header can.

I’ve looked at the cost implications of self hosting, which aren’t too bad. I can manage that.

Then I looked at the set up guide on WordPress.org and nearly had a brain storm!!!

How complicated is that! I fell at the second hurdle.

There must be someone out there that I can pay to set this up for me!!

pic-logo-confused

6 Comments leave one →
  1. svendelicious permalink
    17 January, 2009 3:09 AM

    I manage my own and it’s a doddle. I used BlueHost for my hosting as they install wordpress with one click. Good luck!

  2. 16 January, 2009 4:52 PM

    I my second para, I mean ‘when I moved to self hosted’, not ‘wp.com’.

  3. 16 January, 2009 4:51 PM

    Didn’t work for me but not to say it wouldn’t work for others. Hen loved self-hosted and ever since she’s gone to wp.com, she hardly blogs.

    For me, when I moved to wp.com, I spent far more time tweaking the way it looked, rather than actually blogging.

    I really like my new blog (vis a vis the 3 that went before it) – even though I can’t tweak it much. But that’s just me.

    Get a reliable host if you go self-hosted. For UK, godaddy.com was too slow (it’s v.cheap, which is why people use it). Use a UK provider. I would ask @redheadsec (that’s Hen), as she is the expert among my group of friends who know how to set up / maintain.

    You have been a reliable stalwart on the internet for a long time, whereas I’m fly-by-night, so it probs makes more sense for you to have your own domain and thus your own self-hosted WP blog. I don’t think it would suit me. I will shut down my blog again when the time is right; I’m funny like that.

    The good news is you should be able to export all your posts reasonably easily though moving content that’s hosted on wp.com (photos etc) may be trickier, though if they link to flickr then that’s fine.

    Not sure if that’s helpful or not! I do miss some aspects of self-hosted. I miss not having proper stats (showing where people came from and loads of other things), being able to embed funky java-script widgets, etc.

    A change is as good as a holiday. At the very least you want to go and buy your domain name before someone else does.

  4. Joseph permalink
    16 January, 2009 4:19 PM

    I could set it up for you đŸ˜€ I’ve done it a couple of times before and I’m a computer science student and Bangor University.

    Its a good idea to do it if you want total control over your blog but you wont get all the traffic from wordpress.com, so expect a fewer number of people to stumble across your blog, you’ll have an audience of more regular readers. It has its pros and cons, like everything else in life.

    Let me know if you make a decision.

  5. 16 January, 2009 3:34 PM

    I’m getting mixed messages about whether it’s a good idea or not!

  6. 16 January, 2009 3:26 PM

    Wish I could help, but I had a friend set mine up. WordPress is cake to manage though! I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

