Skip to content

Being Picard

8 January, 2009

759400bI’m going off coffee. Actually that’s a lie, I’m not going off coffee, I just think I’m drinking too much. During the day I probably have around 6 to 8 mugs of black coffee. Apart from the obvious problems with caffiene, there’s the problems with it staining my teeth. Don’t get me wrong, my teeth aren’t bad or black or brown or yellow, they’re just not as “Hollywood white” as they could be. I know that the natural whiteness of teeth depends on what you eat and drink and that staining can come from almost anything, coffee and red wine being the worst.

bergamotSo, I’ve decided to move over to tea. Earl Grey tea to be precise, for two reasons, out of all of the teas that I’ve tried in the past, Assam, Darjeeling etc, I’ve found that Earl Grey has the best aroma and a very delicate flavour, not as strong as Assam and slightly scented. I believe that the scent comes from the addition of rind from the bergamot orange.

I can drink Earl Grey either with or without a splash of milk and unlike coffee, I can drink Earl Grey cold, which is really handy if I forget to drink it while it’s hot.

The second reason is that like Captain Jean Luc Picard, from Star Trek-TNG, I can now demand “Tea: Earl Grey: Hot!” from anyone who offers to make me a drink!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 8 January, 2009 9:18 PM

    If you followed me on twitter (one of these days we’ll convert you) you’d see I didn’t drink coffee or tea today though I’m usually mad for both. Have been getting very dehydrated recently with too much coffee in the morning and too much booze in the evening.

    I like a builder’s brew so tend to take or leave Earl Grey.

    The smoking affects tooth colour too, remember 🙂

    Mike Says:- I have created a Twitter account but can’t get the widget to work on WordPress! and yes, yes I know that smoking affects tooth colour too, one step at a time!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

