Skip to content

The Big Bang Theory

7 January, 2009

7845393xI’ve just remembered that the Big Bang Theory Season 1 is released on DVD on Monday (12th Jan).

I can’t wait.

It’s the first comedy programme in a long, long, long time that I’ve actually loved. I loved Will & Grace until season 2, then Will became a stuck up, yuppie a*sehole so I stopped watching it.

But this is a different kettle of fish. It’s smart, funny and the characters are so perfectly balanced that it’s sure to be huge.

I love comedy when it’s intelligent, and this has it in spades.

I’m not just talking about the main characters being clever, I mean the way in which it deals with, love, sex, relationships, OCD, science and Sci-Fi and it really knows how to appeal to the ” Nerd” in most of us!

At approx £25 for 17 episodes it’s really well worth the money, and I can guarantee you’ll be watching one episode after another, after another.

If you’ve never heard of or seen the show, here’s what TV.com have to say on the show:-

“Created by writer/producers Chuck Lorre (of Two and a Half Men) and Bill Prady (of Gilmore Girls) comes The Big Bang Theory, a sitcom that shows what happens when hyperintelligent roommates/physicists Sheldon and Leonard meet Penny, a beautiful woman moving in next door–and realize they know next to nothing about life outside of the lab. Rounding out the crew are the smarmy Wolowitz, who thinks he’s as sexy as he is brainy, and Koothrappali, who suffers from an inability to speak in the presence of a woman.
The show distinguishes itself by being unafraid to toss scientific references and technobabble into an otherwise standard sitcom, even employing a physicist to keep things accurate. In doing so, it allows Sheldon and Leonard to do for science what Frasier’s Crane brothers did for fine dining, art, and opera.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. herbrokenwings permalink
    7 January, 2009 9:48 PM

    I completely agree with everything you said here! I’m so excited to get Season 1.

    I accidently recorded the show one day decided to watch it and ended up watching it and loving it.

    It’s great to see intelligent humor and like you said, such a great balance of characters. My bf (who’s super smart) and myself (just a inner-geek) both get to laugh and enjoy a show again!

    This is a great review of the show!

    Mike Says:- Thank You and welcome! I’ve just posted a clip, I couldn’t resist it or wait for Monday I had to get a fix!
    🙂

  2. 7 January, 2009 2:49 PM

    You don’t have to publish this comment, but I just wanted to thank you for adding me to your blogroll. Even if I had to threaten my way on there! 😛

    Mike Says:- To be honest Craig, I thought I’d already done it, I know I’ve been on yours for quite a while and when I noticed you weren’t on it, thought I’d better rectify my oversight pretty darn quick!

  3. 7 January, 2009 1:21 PM

    My Mom got this for me for Christmas because she loves it and knew I would too, and I do. I love that you can tell that the show is written by geeks and they know what they’re talking about. When they get into nerd territory, they make great inside references, rather than just making typical nerd jokes.

    Mike Says:- Yeah, it’s smart and irreverant which is right up my street…in the same way that Rick & Steve is stuffed full of jokes you wouldn’t get if you weren’t gay!

Leave a Reply

