Skip to content

I’ve nothing to read…

7 January, 2009

Can someone suggest a good book!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Robert permalink
    7 November, 2009 3:09 AM

    Random books I think are well worth reading:

    The Long Tail: How the future of business is selling less of more- Chris Anderson

    Dry- Augusten Burroughs

    The Power of Babel- James McWhorter

    The Trouble with Islam Today- Irshad Manji

    Kaddish for an Unborn Child- Imre Kertesz

    Mean Little deaf Queer- Terry Galloway

  2. Andrew permalink
    9 January, 2009 12:15 AM

    Have you read any Neil Gaiman? He writes some good books. I most enjoyed his book “American Gods” I wont spoil it with summary I’ll just say that Gaiman has managed to tell the tallest of tales in the most heart rendering and believable fashion. despite the story being mythic. an emursing and addictive read 🙂

    Mike Says:- No, I’ll ad it to my ever growing list, Thanks.

  3. 7 January, 2009 9:49 PM

    I too would recommend the Line of Beauty – it is up there with American Psycho and Treasure Island as one of my favourite books of all time. At the moment I’m reading ‘The Suspicions of Mr Whicher’ and it is superb, if a little hardgoing.

    Mike says:- Thanks, more titles to add to my list!! I’ve never read American Pyscho, only seen the film, Christian Bale in underwear, doing exercise…OMG! Sorry, how girlie was that!

  4. 7 January, 2009 8:45 PM

    Yes I did like D&D when I was younger. Haven’t played it in years though.

    Mike Says:-Yeah me too, I haven’t the time or patience any longer 🙂

  5. 7 January, 2009 1:52 PM

    Hmmm. Good question. I’m not sure exact answer. Alien films are some of my most favourite of all movies. I guess they’re sci-fi. I also love Matrix etc. I do have fond memories of the original Starwars, too.

    In younger days I loved fantasy books, such as Raymond E Feist, David Gemmell, Ursula LeGuin, etc. I’ve not read much actual sci-fi.

    I never really got into Dr Who, Torchwood, etc. Again, not really sure why.

    Mike Says:- TV Sci-Fi I can take or leave, it’s fluff really, even Doctor Who, but true Sci-Fi written by the likes of Phillip K Dick, Arthur C Clarke etc now that’s proper literature. I think you’re a secret Fantasist…Dungeons and Dragons and such like. They make for a good distraction, and after all, isn’t that why we read in the first place?

  6. 7 January, 2009 1:21 PM

    Can I just say, you two (Mike and Craig) have a lot in common as you’re both sci-fi nuts, unlike me!! 🙂

    Mike Says:- Is that because you’ve never tried it or just don’t fancy it?

  7. 7 January, 2009 1:18 PM

    It’s written by Max Brooks. It was a NYT Bestseller (not sure if that means as much to you guys) and has a great amazon.com review score.

    Mike Says:- Thanks Craig, I’ll look it up.

  8. 7 January, 2009 12:59 PM

    World War Z. It’s about a world wide zombie epidemic as told through fictitious interviews. It sounds silly, but it’s very smartly written and I’m currently enjoying it thoroughly!

    Mike Says:- I’ll keep me eye out for it, who is the author?

  9. 7 January, 2009 9:41 AM

    It isn’t new, but I really loved The Shipping News by Annie Proux which I read over my last holiday.

    I also like The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst (gay author) but I really couldn’t get into his The Folded Star which is one of the first books I’ve not read all the way through in a long time. Line of Beauty is v.good though.

    Mike Says:- Thanks for that, I’ll keep my eye out for them, I did read Brokeback Mountain after the film and thought that the film was pretty decent considering how short the original story actually is. As for Alan Hollinghurst, I read The Swimming Pool Diaries back in the early 90s and haven’t read anything by him since. I need to get back to Borders!

  10. 7 January, 2009 3:37 AM

    Um, given I don’t know you at all (wandered here from Daphne’s birdbath blog,) except to imagine you might live somewhere nippy and Yorkshire-ish at the moment, how about Terry Pratchett’s ‘Nation’? Pacific Island, warmth, and …depth: Religion, war, tidal waves, all here.

    Mike Says:-Ahhh, Sir Terry, I had picked this one up in Borders but as it wasn’t a discworld novel put it down again, perhaps I should revisit!

Leave a Reply

