Skip to content

a welcome return to normality…or not!

3 January, 2009

Where has the time gone? It seems only yesterday I was wishing everyone a Merry Christmas and now I’m sat here wondering what I’m going to wear on Monday when I go back to work. It seems that the whole holiday break has gone with a flash and I’m now faced with the reality of work again on Monday morning.

I had a good Christmas, I enjoyed the day. I enjoyed dinner with “The loved ones”, I like all the presents I received, which included DVDs, CDs, some shirts, books, plenty of chocolates etc…nothing that wasn’t welcome. I’ve enjoyed the walks around the park on cold and frosty mornings with the dog, I’ve enjoyed taking pictures with my new camera (coming soon!). I’ve enjoyed the time spent with friends and the time spent at home curled up on the sofa with a book or watching the TV.

I enjoyed watching the Doctor Who Christmas special, The Next Doctor, on TV on Christmas day, it wasn’t a disappointment as some have been in previous years. There has been lots of enjoyable TV programmes this year including the new Wallace & Gromit, the Jonathon Creek new year special and many other programmes that have kept me occupied this year. Obviously myself and “the beloved” have watched quite a number of movies on the new blu-ray player, including Journey to the Centre of the Earth, featuring the ever lovely Brendan Fraser, in HD and in 3D, which was a huge amount of fun and highly recommended for those with the tech to enjoy it.

So now that the new year is over, I’m sizing up the tree with a view to dismantling it again until December, I’m looking at the amount of chocolate and sweets I’ve got left and wondering if I ought to just throw them in the bin as I should be watching my weight again with a view to getting a little bit fitter this year.

It seems that, like previous years, things follow the same pattern. I won’t be making any new years resolutions because I know I’ll only break them again in a week’s time. I’m only kidding myself if I do, but this year for definite, will be the year that I will give up smoking!

I’m not the type of person who can do it overnight, it will take a while, but I will do it, probably with as much help from patches, nicotine gum and maybe even a little hypnotherapy if I can find the extra money, but I will definitely make a promise here and now, that by this time next year, I will be a non smoker.

I’m obviously not going to mention this to “the loved ones” or “the beloved” because they’ll only start putting on the pressure, which in turn will make giving up worse. I doubt that “the beloved” would notice I’d cut down or even stopped. He’s not the observant type. He’s the type of guy that never notices a haircut, so I doubt he’ll notice if something is missing!!

Watch this space…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 January, 2009 8:57 PM

    My husband never notices any haircut, new clothes or any such thing and has a really good get-out which is “Well, you always look perfect to me”. HAH!
    On the smoking front, I’ve never smoked but know from others that it’s really hard to give up – I do hope you manage it.

    Mike Says:-I’ll certainly give it my best shot!!

  2. 3 January, 2009 6:00 PM

    HAPPY NEW YEAR and you’ll have my support on the quitting smoking front.

    It is hard. I’ve quit numerous times, only to restart.

    That said, I’ve now just gone past the one year mark and all is good. I can live without them. I don’t want them any more. If you can get through the first 3 weeks, everything after that is MUCH easier. It really is those first few weeks that are the killer.

    Not sure what my tips are as it’s different for everyone. When you get the urge, drink water. Cravings DO pass. They last a short time though they’re annoying. Chew gum. Put money in a pot each time you’d normally buy the cigarettes, etc.

    Keep a diary of stopping (day 1, etc), using the blog is a good idea. Best of luck and keep us posted!

    Mike Says:- Oh you’l probably hear all about it, I do need a frustration outlet!!

Leave a Reply

