Skip to content

End of the first week.

5 December, 2008

It’s the end of the first week here at my new company, I still feel as though I’ve not done anything, which is compounded by the fact I didn’t manage to get into work yesterday. They called everyone and told us to stay at home and work from there.

I was back home for 9.30am!

The week has been strange to say the least, but in all fairness, they are aware of this and it’s only because of staff illness and bad weather that the normal process hasn’t been carried out.

Next week, hopefully, will be normal and I’ll be able to get out and do what I’m being paid for!

On a personal note, I’ve finally started to do some Christmas shopping. Granted mostly over the internet, but shopping none the same. I’m hoping that this year I can do the majority of my shopping online and leave the actual visits to malls and retail outlets to a minimum. There are some things you just can’t do online!

Also this week I’ve divided my time between Leeds and Penistone, I did Monday night in Leeds, Tues, Weds & Thurs in Penistone and back to Ian’s tonight. This means that I can spend 4 nights in Leeds and 3 in Penistone, which works out rather well!

Travelling to and from work is quite easy from either location so the fuel costs are kept to a minimum. Spending the 3 nights in Penistone means that I can still keep an eye on “the loved ones” and make sure that they’re OK, taken Mum out for her grocery shopping etc… Then get an extended 4 night weekend in Leeds with “the beloved”.

Doing all this before Christmas means that I can work out all the best routes, timings and things in readiness for being fully active at work in the new year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

