Skip to content

The end of an era…

27 November, 2008

goodbye1Tomorrow is my last day at work, after five years I say goodbye to my work colleagues and close the book on my tenure to set off for pastures new. As I’ve said in previous posts, I’ll be sad to leave, if circumstances were different then I’d probably stay, but life moves on and so must I.

It’s customary at my place for the person leaving to be presented with a leaving gift and some nice departing words said by the MD or the person’s manager. I’m not sure who will play the role for me tomorrow, it will be interesting to say the least to see who does!

It’s also customary for the departing person, like a man about to be executed, to say some final words. These are usually along the lines of how much they’ve enjoyed working for the company and how nice everyone is etc. I’m not sure what I’m going to say. I obviously aren’t going to be burning any bridges that’s for sure, so I’ll most likely resort to the same formula as everyone else.

After work, as it’s also payday, we’ll all be going out for a few drinks to celebrate my new adventure. I don’t normally stay too long at these affairs, but this time, I’ll have to. So, to ensure that I can have a real drink; I’ve booked a room at a hotel so that I don’t have to drive home which I think, is the sensible thing to do.

I just hope that things don’t get too rowdy, at these types of work related, alcohol infused events, someone invariably says something or does something they shouldn’t..this time it’ll most likely be me!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dove permalink
    4 December, 2008 1:55 PM

    Hi! I like your writing style. 🙂

    Mike Says:- Thank You!

Leave a Reply

