Skip to content

The deed is done…

31 October, 2008

I did it yesterday, there were tears, some of them mine, mostly not though! So it’s now official, after five years at my present company I will be leaving as of the 28th November.

My last 4 weeks will pass quickly for me, mainly because for two of them I’ll be in Miami, but I’m sure before I know it my time will be up!

Since handing in my notice I’ve had some really kind words, some I’m sure have been heartfelt, others out of politeness but most have said they’ll miss me, as I will them. You can’t spend that much time with people to not form a bond and breaking that bond is very hard. You spend a great deal of your waking life at work, and for some more than they do at home, so friendships and attachments are inevitable and so is the sadness and sorrow.

I know that I’ll have to face everyone on my last day, it’s traditional to say goodbye as a whole company. I’ll be expected to say some last words…I’m going to have to think long and hard about what I’m going to say, I can’t just say “thanks” and leave. So, as words are supposed to be my trade, I’ll have to come up with something that will be a fitting end to five years service.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 November, 2008 12:10 AM

    It sounds as though it is the right decision, though. I bet you’ll be in Florida at the same time as I am! Though I know you’ve been before and I never have – – -!

  2. 1 November, 2008 1:21 PM

    From the things you’ve said, it sounds like a wise choice. Good luck and congrads.

  3. 31 October, 2008 6:41 PM

    Well done for doing it. I left a job of 5.5 years in June this year. Was tough, and emotional. I knew it was time to leave (my career had plateaued) but it was still tough.

    Exciting times ahead!

Leave a Reply

