Skip to content

New USS Enterprise NCC-1701

18 February, 2008

First look at the new USS Enterprise for all those anaraks out there like me! Click here to view the HD teaser trailer. Click the image for a bigger version of the image.

newenterprisesmall.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 September, 2008 6:52 AM

    Nope this is just a fan model, created by one of the Battlestar guys like mentioned above. Here’s a link to the guy’s actual site. http://www.gabekoerner.com/ent/ You’ll find this pic near the bottom.

  2. Eugene Sanford permalink
    6 September, 2008 2:27 PM

    This is a really cool version of the Enterprise. I am looking forward to seeing this movie next year. I have been a die hard fan since the early 70s.

  3. Stephen permalink
    4 September, 2008 3:32 PM

    I hope Rick is right and this isn’t the new Enterprise. I agree with Philcomix, this is far too busy and cluttered.

    When I first heard that there was going to be a new Star Trek film I couldn’t wait! Then I heard that they were going back to the original series and I was a bit unsure. Then I heard it was Abrams and I was even less sure. Since then I have heard nothing to make me feel any better about the new film.

    I am getting sick of Prequel films and now someone is going to destroy something I really enjoyed. I think this will be the first Star Trek film in a long time that I won’t be going to the Cinema to see. A sad day! I’ll just stay at home and stick my movie era DVDs on and remember when Star Trek was good.

  4. Rob permalink
    2 September, 2008 6:49 PM

    It is a sleek design for the original. Its almost looks like a modern day look at what the original would have looked like if they had the technology to produce visual effects like that. Unfortunately this is ot the look they should have been going for. This is suppose to be Enterprise with Captain Pike in charge, prior to Kirk and this one doesn’t quite fit the bill when put side by side with the original. This is what the prequel “Enterprise” series ship should have looked like instead of an NX class ship. Shes a bonny ship, but not quite lass. 😉 If your going to do any kind of prequel, movie or series, make sure you follow as closely as you can with the series and timeline you are basing it on, and thats just in general. Please understand, it looks like a great ship, but I think she is a miss on this one. Ya never know, it could grow on me.

  5. Rick permalink
    7 August, 2008 7:47 PM

    Hi, just wanted to let you know youv’e been taken in like many other , including regular STAR TREK fan sites, have. This ship was done by a FX designer who works on Battlestar Galactica, It is not the new Enterprise. If you ever saw the movie Trekkies, he was the weird kid who wore a star trek uniform and had his father build him a shuttle craft looking van to drive around in. He freely admited he did this on his own and it has nothing to do with the movie.

  6. 2 July, 2008 9:43 PM

    I was 11 in 1967. I too have a fondness for the original NCC-1701. If you view new episodes of trek on http://www.startreknewvoyages.com/ like I do, you’ll find everything is exactly the same as the original. The episodes are great & they have many of the original actors playing their original rolls, but much older & later. I have just started a ST ship collection. I have all the Enterprise ships. Still waiting on Enterprise NX-01 & NCC-1701D & Voyager. I got my hands on the Playmates version that is very difficult to find & it was expensive. I wanted this one even though it’s name is not Enterprise. I will have all of them on my web site soon. ArtAsylum does some great work. I am forgiving of any changes up to a point. I don’t really except too drastic changes on the exterior. I think they could still keep the original lines, but allow for more detail somewhat like NCC-1701A. I don’t like the enterior at all. I think they should keep it more like the original, but with more detail & controls ect.

  7. Philcomix permalink
    2 March, 2008 11:22 PM

    I’m a first generation Trek fan. The original Enterprise will always be my favorite. She had clean lines, an uncluttered hull, just the right combination of curves & angles. She was simple & elegant; a lady. Having said that, I’m not disgusted with this redesign. The proportions are the same, but like so much modern design it is too busy & unnecessarily cluttered. It is “butched” up, bulked out, & appears more masculine. I did not expect Mr. Abrams to keep the original ship unaltered, so I’m not very disappointed, but I think it would have been nice if he had. It would have endeared his movie to the fans who made Star Trek what it is, & insured that every one of them was there opening night. It could certainly be worse though. The ‘Next Generation’ Enterprise was possibly the single ugliest thing I have ever seen in my life.

Leave a Reply

