Skip to content

Weekend round up

20 January, 2008

Saturday morning found me cleaning out the old car (Ian had taken Max to the park) ready to hand it over to the Peugeot garage as part exchange for Ms Lemon, while I was busy clearing out the type of stuff that gets left in cars, old gloves, books, pens, car parking receipts, empty chocolate bar wrappers etc I never noticed that I had a visitor in the car with me. After clearing out some rubbish from the back seat I turned to find Gizmo (Ian’s neighbour’s cat) sitting on the passenger seat looking out the window. He looked at me as if to say “so…where are we going?”

dscf1511.jpg

I tickled him under his chin, then threw him out.

Once Ian had come back with Max, we drove the old car down to the garage to pick up Ms Lemon. The handover took about 20 mins, I can’t believe how much paperwork there was still to sign, checklists and declarations of mileage etc..eventually Paul the salesman handed over Ms Lemon’s keys and I gleefully handed over the keys to the Fiat, glad to be finally rid of it.

We drove Ms lemon home and I immediately took out the camera.

mslemon1.jpg

mslemon2.jpg

mslemon3.jpg

Yes, she is very yellow isn’t she! Obviously I’ve modified the license plate, I don’t want to broadcast that all over the world do I?

We spent the rest of the afternoon driving her about, trying to get used to the feel of the new pedals, we took her up to IKEA at Birstall and had some lunch at TGI Friday’s. Then just drove aimlessly around for the rest of the afternoon until driving back home ready for Emily’s 14th birthday party. This year’s affair was slightly more low key than last years! One of Emily’s friends almost got a slap after calling all the adults senile! Little Madam!

On Sunday, it was Ian’s parents 57th wedding anniversary, so we took them out for lunch in Harrogate, or on the outskirts anyway, to place called the Kestrel, the food is lovely, not pretentious, just good honest fare and inexpensive too! I had the Chicken Kiev with Bramley Apple Caramel Crunch pudding for dessert. I’m so glad I’m not on the diet yet!

The rest of the afternoon was spent relaxing watching the QVC and Ideal World shopping channels. My goodness they sell some sh*t! We find them hilarious to watch, they try and sell all sorts of stuff you really don’t want.

Back home in Penistone at around 8pm, just ironed some shirts and trousers for work tomorrow, still undecided whether to drive in to work or catch the train…bah, who am I kidding, I know exactly how I’m getting to work tomorrow!

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. 21 January, 2008 10:49 PM

    Gratz on taking ownership of the car! I bet she cheers you up, especially with this horrible grey and dismal weather we’re having! 😛

    Mike Says:- Sure does! She’s a really nice ride and feels very solid! The fun colour helps to bring a smile to the ole choppers to!

Leave a Reply

