Skip to content

Le weekend

13 January, 2008

Fairly laid back this weekend, on Saturday Ian and I went up to the White Rose shopping centre to do a little shopping and browsing, Ian was looking for a zippy/hoodie type top for the gym. I wasn’t after anything in particular but ended up buying this sweater below. It was in a sale and cost the princely sum of £2.00 (approx $4 US). I like the blue and grey combination, it’ll do for casual and for work!

sweater.jpg

Lunched in the foodcourt, we had a Subway, surrounded by Chavs and thier MacDonalds and KFCs. From there we drove down to the Peugeot garage so I could sign the finance papers and Direct Debit for Ms Lemon. The salesman confirmed I could pick her up at 11am next Saturday (19th), and said he’d throw in a set of free mats. I looked to see how much they’d have been on the accessories listing, they’re down for £70! I wouldn’t have paid that. I’d have gone to Halfords and bought some cheaper ones, after all, you only wipe your feet on them.

Saturday night, we stayed in, I cooked beef with Chianti ravioli, with a tomato, basil and oregano sauce. We had huge slabs of champagne loaf to soak and wipe up with while watching “Little Miss Sunshine” on DVD. We bought it ages ago and we’ve just never gotten around to watching it. I enjoyed it, I like black comedies and found the film to be very entertaining. Alan Arkin was a treat, as was Abigail Breslin who played Olive. She was an absolute pleasure to watch.

Sunday was a bit of a lazy day, we had lunch at the Toby Carvery at Oulton and then Ian decided he wanted to buy a 1G iPod shuffle for the gym. We trailed around all the major retailers until we found one that actually had a silver one in stock. Then on the way back to Ian’s the conversation turned to organ donation at the Government’s announcement that it’s going to implement an opt out policy as apposed to the current opt in. It’s a moral minefield with good arguments for and against it. I’ve yet to make up my mind, I don’t currently carry an organ donation card. 

Once back at Ian’s we charged up the iPod and Ian settled down to decide what he wanted to put on it. It took nearly two hours for him to choose 110 tracks to put on the bloody thing!

I’m now back at home and getting ready for work tomorrow, I’ll be going by train this week so I’m looking forward to the catch up time with my reading.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 14 January, 2008 12:09 PM

    I like it – and I especially like the price!!

    Mike Says:- I thought I’d do a Sigesque pose, I knew you’d approve. The price was a boon too!

Leave a Reply

