Skip to content

A letter from sunny Florida

9 November, 2007

Hi guys,

I’m nearing my first week here in Florida, Fort Lauderdale has turned out to be one HUGE disappointment. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had a good time, but FL os so spread out I’m finding I’m spending a lot of money on taxis (and they aren’t even yellow!).

The weather is hot, up in the early 80s and has been all week, so hot in fact that my cigarette lighter exploded in my pocket on Tuesday morning. No damage done thankfully but still scary!

We’ve seen some good wildlife so far, pelicans, huge iguanas, wild parrots, dolphins (in the sea!) and flying fish to name a few.

The shopping areas are quite spread out, I’ve done the shops down Las Olas twice this week as they’re the nearest, apart from the Gallaria, which is a shopping mall which mainly consists of Neiman Marcus, Macy’s, Dillards and Saks 5th Avenue. The food court is quite impressive though!

The gay inhabitants of FL all congregate around an area called Wilton Manors, which is around a 30 minute taxi ride away. Not exactly handy! Although, when you do get there there is a concentration of gay owned shops, bars and restaurants. The biggest and most popular bar by far is called Georgie’s Alibi, It gets quite busy, especially after 5pm. Last night (Thursday) Ian and I went up there and had some food, then a few drinks.

 rush.jpgWe were all set to leave by around 10.30 when Ian spotted a familiar face in the crowd. Not someone we know, but someone we know of. The guy in question is Matthew Rush, he’s quite famous in gay circles, he stars in gay adult films, you know the type, educational films!

He’s one of Ian’s favourites and he had to stand and stare in adoration for a few minutes until I forced him to go over and say hello. To my suprise, he did. He came back a few minutes later, shaking like a leaf.

He’d gone over, introduced himself,  shook his hand and came back in shock, all I could get out of Ian for the next hour was “he’s so nice!”. Men!

So, tomorrow we drive down to Miami. Hopefully I’ll be able to find a cyber cafe closer to the hotel than this one. It’s taken me a week to ferret this one out!

Photo’s will be be up if I can find a cyber cafe with a card reader.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Daphne permalink
    10 November, 2007 10:54 PM

    Hello from cold, blustery Leeds – and I’m working in cold, blustery Holmfirth on Monday so will be thinking of you in sunny Florida. Hah.
    Glad you’re having a good time. I can tell from the photo that Matthew Rush is capable of film performances of great subtlety. Glad he was nice.

  2. 10 November, 2007 5:59 PM

    Enjoy yourself, you’re not missing much back here. The temp has dropped quite a lot back in Blighty.

  3. 10 November, 2007 9:00 AM

    I personally find Matthew Rush appalling.

  4. 10 November, 2007 1:19 AM

    Welcome to Florida! Land of sprawl and shopping mall 😛

Leave a Reply

