Skip to content

Getting ready for all hallows’ eve

25 October, 2007

jackolantern_christopher_walters_470x353.jpgAs Halloween is fast approaching, tensions are mounting and excitement is in the air. My students have all decided that they wish to make Jack O’ Lanterns on Wednesday, and as part of their ongoing studies, watch a Halloween based film so that they can write a critical review after.

Personally I think they just want to get out of doing classes on Wednesday, however, as I’m a kind hearted soul, I’ve agreed. I’ve chosen two films for them to select one from. The first, Sleepy Hollow and the second film is Hocus Pocus.

Either of these two films are suitable for my level of students and they don’t contain anything too nasty for the more “sensitive”. As I have to be careful and always consider diversity in all activities I do, I will have to preface each session with a brief intro about other faiths and their festivals and how Halloween fits in on the grand scheme of things.

Even though I know they just want an easy day, it’s a fun and engaging way of getting them to actually put pen to paper or finger to keyboard, and if the truth were known, it also gives me an easy day too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 29 October, 2007 8:57 AM

    What other holidays are you covering?

    Where I grew up, the Spanish Club always did a “Dia De Los Muertos” festival at school…

    Mike says:-I’m open to suggestions as to what other festivals and holidays to cover, things that involve death, demons and spirits of the underworld always go down well!

  2. 27 October, 2007 11:39 PM

    Wow, it sounds PC. Wasn’t like that when I was at school. But that was 20 yrs ago…

Leave a Reply

