Skip to content

What I won’t be doing at the xmas party

15 October, 2007

This, dear readers is the latest danse (sic) craze which is sweeping across europe. It’s called Tecktonik. The young man in the video goes by the name of Jey-Jey.

Here’s what Wikipedia has to say on the subject of Tecktonik:

Tecktonik (also known as “tck“,”Milky Way“) is a form of dance based on a blend of hip hop and techno styles[1]. It originated in Paris, France and has grown in popularity through word-of-mouth and video sharing sites. Tecktonik was featured prominently at the 2007 Paris Techno Parade on September 15, 2007.

Tecktonik appeared in France in 2000 in Paris in a nightclub called Metropolis [[2]]. It borrows heavily from elements of hip-hop dance moves including popping and locking.

Notable Tecktonik musicians include DJ Dess, RV. B, Deepack, Max B. Grant and Miss Hiroko.

Typical dress for Tecktonik dancers include tight-fitting jackets and slim-fit jeans. Dancers also tend to have “futuristic” hair cuts and sometimes wear makeup designs such as a star around one eye. Tecktonik style borrows heavily from cyberpunk. The neon colours on shirts are linked to the London Nu Rave fashion scene.

There, I hope that clears that up! Now I know I’m getting old!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kevin permalink
    2 November, 2008 11:43 PM

    vraiment enorme
    rentree mon msn : kygan@hotmail.fr enfin si vous voullez

  2. 18 October, 2007 6:06 PM

    Hehe, now that is a youtube clip I would have liked to have seen!

    Mike says:- Now that’s just mean. tee hee!

  3. 18 October, 2007 7:21 AM

    I got tired just WATCHING that guy dance.

    Mike Says:- I did try a couple of the moves, but I think I dislocated my hip!

  4. 17 October, 2007 10:48 PM

    It’ll take me a while to pick that one up I think. I’ve only just mastered the Twist.

Leave a Reply

