Skip to content

Bearforce1

2 October, 2007

Some time ago I apologised profusely for Pete Waterman inflicting The Sheilas onto an unsuspecting world. It seems that my claims of them being the worst idea for a band were a tad premature.

May I introduce to you Bearforce1.

bearforce1.jpg

These homely furry Dutch guys are the Netherlands contribution to the “boy” band phenomenon. Of course the name of the band gives away their sexuality, but for those of you not in the know a “bear” in homoland means a hairy guy with either facial or body hair and in most cases is quite “chunky”. Bears have a stereotypical fondness for disco and europopesque music and can often be found on the dance floor in gay clubs all over the world with t-shirt stuffed into back pocket and oft not with a bottle of poppers under one nostril, jiggling away to the sounds of the latest Donna Summer “I feel love euromegamix”.

Don’t get me wrong, I like bears (not in the sexual sense I may hurriedly add), some of my best friends…but let’s not go there!

Suffice it to say that these lovely guys are obviously having the time of their lives and if they’re not poking fun at themselves then they’re having a damn good poke at someone somewhere and why not. Why not indeed!

It’s time that the pop scene had some fun and if these guys can’t raise a smile and a titter then no one can, but then…judge for yourself. Here is their first single predictably called “bearforce1”.

Just don’t watch it while you’re drinking a hot cup of tea! Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mario fernando permalink
    10 December, 2007 7:26 PM

    Quisiera saber donde puedo conseguir el video y el disco y unas fotos de ellos

    Mike Says:- and in English this means…?

  2. mario fernando permalink
    10 December, 2007 7:25 PM

    Me encantaron quiesiera saber más de ellos, me parecen que cantan bien y son lindos

    Mike Says:- and in English this means…?

  3. EKF permalink
    4 October, 2007 4:52 PM

    Well I normally have a thing for bears (problem being, they obv don’t have a thing for me)….

    But I think my eyes just broke. To say nothing of my ears.

Leave a Reply

