Skip to content

Another year older…

9 September, 2007

As the clock ticks ever closer to midnight, I draw a line upon another year. Tomorrow is my birthday. I’ll be 39, one small step closer to the big four zero.

I’ve spent most of the weekend thinking about what I’ve achieved this year, both professionally and personally and in those grey areas in between, such as my writing.

The past year has been good as far as my writing is concerned. I’ve managed to get myself published for the first time this year, which has really been a highlight for me.

Next year, I’m really going to knuckle down and try and finish the book I’ve been writing for the past 4 years. It’s time I stopped thinking I wasn’t any good. Other people, people whose opinion matters, have told me otherwise. I’ve had professional opinions from published authors and so I can’t hide behind the excuse that I can’t string a coherent sentence together any longer.

I’ve had a good year and I can only hope that my thirty ninth is as good as the last.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 September, 2007 6:01 PM

    Thanks guys, you’re very kind!

    Mikey

  2. 10 September, 2007 8:52 AM

    Happy birthday!

  3. 10 September, 2007 12:02 AM

    Happy Bday! I know the feeling. Turned 39 at the end of July.

Leave a Reply

