Skip to content

Michael Tolliver Lives…

13 August, 2007

You  may have noticed that I’m currently reading Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City.

I thought it would be nice to start reading the series from the beginning again before I read his latest installment.

I also went out and bought the whole set to match the new volume. Is that bad?

Anyway, it feels like I’m back amongst friends again…I’ve been away from Barbary Lane for far too long!

On my first trip to San Francisco (1991) I tried to find the house, but couldn’t. I was devasted. I did spend a lot of time down on Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and Castro and I was really pleased to discover that The End Up was a real bar! Is it still open?

It’s been 5 years since my last visit. I think I may be due another!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 16 August, 2007 7:07 PM

    Telly series.

  2. 15 August, 2007 7:57 AM

    Oh dear.

    Am I the only poof that didn’t like Tales of the City?

    Mike Says:- Are you referring to the telly series or the book?

  3. 13 August, 2007 6:57 PM

    The tv series is also great!

    Mike Says:- Yeah, I have the first series on DVD, I keep toying with the idea of watching it again, but want to finish the book first!

Leave a Reply

